Here's how you can make spirits rise at Illinois veterans' homes

Julia LeDoux
June 03, 2020 - 7:27 am
Rising Star

IDVA

A campagn launched by the Illinois Department of Veterans' Affairs is challenging service organizations, volunteers, and the public to raise the spirits of veterans and staffers at the state’s veterans' homes.

Known as "Operation Rising Spirit," the project is asking that messages of support be sent to state veterans' homes in Anna, LaSalle, Manteno, and Quincy, Illinois. Visitation to the state’s veterans' homes was restricted due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

"Uplifting messages and displays of support from the community will help boost the morale of veterans and staff during this unprecedented time," said IDVA Director Linda Chapa LaVia in a release. "Cards, emails, signs outside the homes, and video messages are encouraged, but I also challenge everybody to think creatively about what they can do to support veterans and staff."

This street in Illinois was just renamed for a Marine Corps Corporal killed in Afghanistan

Cards, emails, and video messages can be sent directly to the homes at the addresses below, and socially distant on-site activities can be coordinated with the staff at each home below.

Illinois Veterans' Home at Anna
792 N. Main Street, Anna, Illinois 62906
C/O: Anthony Barnett
Anthony.Barnett2@illinois.gov

Illinois Veterans' Home at LaSalle
1015 O'Conor Avenue, LaSalle, Illinois 61301
C/O: Susan Scully
Susan.Scully@illinois.gov

Illinois Veterans' Home at Manteno
1 Veterans Drive, Manteno, Illinois 60950
C/O: Dave Pedersen
David.W.Pedersen@illinois.gov

Illinois Veterans' Home at Quincy
1707 N. 12th Street, Quincy, Illinois 62301
C/O: Sara Colgrove
Sara.Colgrove@illinois.gov

Prince Home at Manteno
1 Veterans Drive, Manteno, Illinois 60950
C/O Wali Lewis
Wali.Lewis2@illinois.gov

Reach Julia LeDoux at Julia@connectingvets.com.

Want to stay more connected to all the stories and resources Connecting Vets has to offer? Click here to sign up for our weekly newsletter.